Home » thoughts and words » Loving books AND their covers.

Loving books AND their covers.

I seem to find inspiration everywhere. But one of my favorite places to be inspired is a bookstore. I love to read, and I hoard books; I had to build a bigger bookshelf to house them all. To me, books are one of the greatest adventures. In them I find, not only exploration of new places, but also insight into the minds of others. I can never read enough books to satisfy me. Wandering a bookstore is my favorite place to daydream.

The saying is that you should never judge a book by its cover, but I willingly admit that I do. Because I LOVE book covers. Sometimes I love the covers of books more than I love the books themselves. A good book cover can perfectly communicate the tone of the book. It can illustrate the feelings youโ€™re about to experience when you open the book. Visual storytelling is equally as important as written storytelling.

So I decided to share a few of my favorite book covers. These are by no means all of them, but it will give you a taste of the types of artwork I love. Book covers are just as much a piece of artwork as art that you would frame and hang on the wall.

Mockingbird

Peter Pan

A Little Princess

Winter Townย 

nottinghill

glaciers

let the great world spin

xoxo, Michelle

Leave a Reply

